Life Interrupted

I had been waiting till all three kids had finished having birthdays and thought I would do a birthday blog.  But my life was abruptly interrupted when I saw images from an organisation our not for profit Gifted Hands has supported in the past.

Hearts and Hands is an organisation that runs on volunteers and they fundraise to make a difference in a village in the Philippines.  Lynne, the amazing woman who started this not for profit organisation was overwhelmed with all the need in the Philippines but felt she could make a difference to one village and thus the journey of Hearts and Hands ensued.

What a difference they have made to children, families and communities in the Philippines.  I have followed their journey and have seen kids grow and flourish. Communities receive goats and chickens to give them food and milk. Women learning to make jewellery and clothes. Men learning to bake bread to sell.  Inspiring how individuals can get together to make a difference to those less fortunate.

Lynne and part of her team are currently in the Philippines in an area that has been affected by the typhoon.  A couple of days ago they walked into an orphanage and saw the following images.

Children sleeping in cots with no mattresses.  Hessian bags for nappies.

Children sleeping in cots with no mattresses. Hessian bags for nappies.

 10343509_867428829938134_6472807984405566630_n10455851_865832406764443_6646445738411832221_n

Sores from sleeping on dilapidated and wooden cots

Sores from sleeping on dilapidated and wooden cots

10491103_867869513227399_6939292337367235001_n

 

 

Food for 1 week for 26 children - totally inadequate!

Food for 1 week for 26 children – totally inadequate!

10347626_865832226764461_5813137080092540474_n

clothing and bathing area

clothing and bathing area

This is why this blog was interrupted.  There is no way I could talk about my children and all the love and presents that has been showered upon them whilst celebrating their lives.  That blog can wait.

I saw this and my heart broke. I wept uncontrollably.  This is evidently wrong.

But I don’t want to just sit here and say it is terrible.  I want to be part of the solution!  I want to be part of a global community who puts their hand up and says “Let me help in some small way!”

This is the whole reason as to why the Justice Bags exist – to bring justice to situations where the defenceless, poor and needy who have no voice has someone stand up on their behalf.

So Gifted Hands is sending profits from some of the amazing sales of our Justice Bags here in the UK as well as Australia to help Hearts and Hands ensure the little ones get the improved living conditions, loving care and attention they deserve.

If anyone is wanting to donate to this cause as well please email me at sales@giftedhands.org.uk for bank account details.  We have payment options available no matter where in the world you live.

Sometimes I am glad life interrupts me and brings me back to reality as all the little problems I seem to face fades into insignificance.  I probably will never know the names of these children or meet them but I believe they deserve a chance in life.  Who knows – one of these precious children could be the next Nelson Mandela or Mother Teresa!

Let’s be a community who lives a life interrupted!

Anita

“If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.” ~Mother Teresa

This entry was published on June 23, 2014 at 10:34 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment